Prezi

I recently learned about this amazing website called “Prezi.” I tried to use it several times without much success, however, in my Technology class, I was taught how to use this tool (properly, lol), and I created a Prezi to introduce myself to my upcoming class this fall. I’m excited to share this with everyone for two reasons:

1. I love this tool. I think it is a fun and interactive way to engage students in the classroom. I can’t see myself ever going back to PowerPoint. Prezi is so much more dynamic than PowerPoint, which is strictly linear. In Prezi I am able to give a presentation on what I think of as a “digital whiteboard.” I can add, change, upload, make connections, etc. with this tool. And the best part? It’s totally FREE!

2. I love to tell whoever I can about my family and my life. Not to toot my own horn, but I have a pretty great life. More importantly though, I was able to create a Prezi to give my students some information about me that will help them relate to me and think of me as their mentor, not their dictator. I’m a real person. I think this will help build community within my class. In addition, I want this to be the first of many models within my class that will allow them to demonstrate their individual learning in authentic ways.

Anyways, here is the link to my Prezi. If you have any questions, please feel free to ask.

http://prezi.com/bun8kthw43zm/

P.S.

If you are still a fan of PowerPoint and not convinced Prezi can replace it, or you hate it and want a good laugh, check out this video. It is so true!

http://www.edublogs.tv/play.php?vid=865

Leave a comment

Filed under Technology

Leave a Reply

