10 days and counting…

Well not exactly 10 days… but that is the beginning. What do I mean? Well, my district starts new teacher training on August 2nd and we train until the 10th. The first day of school for students is the 11th. I’m kinda getting excited, but really nervous at the same time. I hope that I am prepared… well, I know I will be, but I hope it’s not too stressful.

My classroom… I haven’t seen it yet. I don’t get to go into it until the end of July or beginning of August. I’m nervous about my room. Is it too immature to have a theme for 8th graders? I’m pretty sure my 8th grade team had a theme when I was in school, but I can’t remember. I’m thinking of “Stories from Around the World” or something. I will let them make a passport and personalize it and every time we read a new story or book, we will mark them in our passports. Sounds pretty cool… to me anyways.

Lesson plans? I have the first 4-5 days of lessons done already. I’m pretty happy about this and even more happy that I’m not doing anything curriculum related. It’s all about the rules, procedures, and getting to know you activities… just like Harry Wong recommends. It’s after that that I’m nervous about. I am confident that it will be ok though… I have tons of strategies and knowledge up my sleeve. I feel like I could develop an entire unit plan pretty easily (said the NEW teacher after her Classroom Strategies class), lol.

Clothing… um, yeah — I’m a girl and a pretty stylish one at that πŸ™‚Β  I have most of my teacher wardrobe planned out. I would like to get a few more items for the summer/spring portion of the school year, but overall, I am pretty prepared. I know a lot of veteran teachers push comfy shoes, but let me tell you… I love heals. I love how I look, and once they are broke in, they are more comfy and work better with my wardrobe. My only worry is that my student teaching calluses (I know, gross right?) are almost gone. LOL! That is sooo disgusting but so true!

Well… I think that’s all for now. Counting down the days and looking forward a new chapter. πŸ™‚

6 Comments

Filed under CADRE and my Experiences

6 responses to “10 days and counting…

  1. Your blog is fun to follow. I added you to my blogroll at ruthlessdiastemagames.wordpress.com, where I put teachers and gamers in the mindblender.

  2. JB

    Hi there!
    I am having a great time reading your blog, I’ve just finished my second year of teaching, about to start my third come September, and I can really relate to how you are feeling.

    I had the urge to post when you started wondering about themes in a grade eight classroom. I’ve been a music teacher so far, and I’ve taught at a grade seven-eight school, and I have kept my room vibrant and on a frog theme.

    The kids love it. Sure you will have some who think they are ‘too cool’ for something like that but truth be told your idea sounds great!

    So here’s wishing you luck on your adventure!
    Tootles
    JB

    • Thanks JB! I have definitely decided on a travel theme. I’m pretty pumped to get my students in the mood for reading with this theme. I have some pretty fun things lined up for the year, so stay tuned, because I will be posting those as I get them hammered out. πŸ™‚

  3. I can’t get enough of wearing my heels to work in either even when I know I have to stand in front of students and walk around the classroom. However, I also wear them because I generally look like the students I work with and many of them would tower over me without them. Plus, the Principal once confused me for a student…even though they wear uniforms and I was 6 months pregnant (I’m still not over that).
    Good Luck and Congrats on choosing the teaching profession.

    • Thanks! I wish I was mistaken for a student once in awhile, lol. I mainly wear heels because I think I look frumpy with flats on– I feel sophisticated with heels. πŸ™‚ And… they are sooo cute!

Leave a Reply

